top of page
  • Wild Basin

Wild Basin Notes by Bruce Mackenzie


I have been a volunteer at Wild Basin for coming up on 8 years. During that time, I have seen a lot of changes - both to personnel and to the preserve itself. At first I intended to be a tour guide for school groups. To train for that role, I became familiar with the place by doing trail maintenance that got me to all corners of the preserve. Eventually I decided that these activities, for what became known as the Land Stewardship team, were right for me. Several of us meet Thursday mornings and focus on keeping the trails pruned, free from standing water, and free from various safety hazards. Occasionally we repair signs, help set up educational displays, attend to the small frog pond, and so on. Essentially, we do whatever needs doing that isn't too taxing for a few retirees. One thing that struck me from Day 1 is how dedicated are the staff and volunteers. They all care deeply about Wild Basin and how it represents a protected environment. They care about habitats, native plants and animals, environmental policies, and educating young people. I am amazed at the expertise embodied by the group of people who work at Wild Basin. In these times, we all can find reasons to be pessimistic or discouraged about the future of the environment. But that isn't the prevailing attitude at Wild Basin. Quite the contrary. There is a sense of optimism and incremental progress that is pervasive. While I might return home physically drained from my Thursday morning excursions, my head is clear and filled with a sense of accomplishment. If you have a friend who has never been to Wild Basin, then I encourage you to take them with you on your next visit. If you have been there but have not walked all of the trails, then choose a new one to explore. And while doing that, be sure to look up and around at the beautiful place that it is.


42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page